top of page

3 Unusual Herbs to Use for Tea


Hello, 


As a kid, I remember some of my friends’ parents had gardens. In those gardens, they would grow herbs like mint or basil. I would sometimes pick off a piece and bite into it. 


When I got older, I didn’t do that anymore. But for the past 6 months, I’ve been drinking tea almost every morning. Then bam. Two worlds collided. 


Why have I never thought to forage herbs for tea? 


Ding. It’s time for a foraging adventure. The spring is here, which means many things are growing and coming out of the ground. I plan on growing my own garden but until then, I decided to look at my local community gardens to see what they had. 


If you’re like me and looking for something unique to drink that can also provide some medicinal benefits, here are my top 3 unusual herbs to use for tea. 


 

Purple Dead Nettle 



Isn’t it so pretty? 


I never even knew that this existed until it was pointed out to me. I’m not an expert, and it’s only been recently that I’ve been gaining some foraging and herbal medicine knowledge. 


This pretty plant is a small herb with square leaves and a purplish-pink hue on the tip of its leaves. They usually grow in small bunches and are easy to identify. Sometimes it does get confused with another plant that looks similar called a Henbit. 


I found this herb in a school community garden. I’ve noticed there’s an increasing number of community gardens in my area, which I love so much. 


Health/Medicinal Benefits: 


  • Seasonal Allergy Relief 

  • Anti-Inflammatory

  • Diuretic (flushes out fluids from the body) 



To make it into tea, all you need to do is steep the leaves (dried or fresh, but dried will bring out the most flavor) for about 5 minutes in hot water. I recommend adding honey into it to add a little sweetness to it. 


Flavor Profile: Minty & Earthy 


 

Sage 



I know this is a very common herb used in foods, but it can be great as tea! 


This herb is also in the mint family and is typically grown on large stems with a bunch of leaves. Sage is often easy to spot and smells amazing once you get close. I love the smell of my hands after picking sage. 


I found sage in the same community garden I was talking about previously. I think it’s awesome to be able to find a garden with a diverse range of herbs. 


Health/Medicinal Benefits: 


  • Anti-Inflammatory 

  • Boost Memory 

  • Lower Cholesterol 

  • Menopause Support (hot flashes) 



This tea is similar to the previous herb, but I believe sage as a tea is best when the leaves are dried. To dry the leaves, all you have to do is turn your oven on to the lowest setting, lay them out on a baking sheet with parchment paper, and bake them for an hour or so until the leaves are completely dry. 


Steep for 5 to 10 minutes in hot water. Now you’ve got yourself some amazing tea. 


Flavor Profile: Woodsy & Piney 


 

Hairy Bittercress



Do you always wonder what those little white flowers in your yard are? Well, they're more than likely Hairy Bittercress.


This plant is a member of the mustard family, and typically pops out in early spring before the summer when it gets too hot. They are normally grown in bunches and spread quickly. To some they are considered a weed because it can overgrow other plants and grass.


I actually found some of this in my backyard. It's cool to learn that even in a city like environment, there's still some nature to discover.


Health/Medicinal Benefits: 


  • Increase in Vitamin C

  • Boost Immune System

  • Removes Carcinogens from the Body

  • Aid in Digestion



For making this one into a tea, I'd recommend either putting the flowers and leaves in a tea diffuser so that you don't get small little pieces of the plant in your mouth (unless you'd like to eat it, it's great on a salad). Steep for a few minutes and there you have it, some yummy tea.


Flavor Profile: Peppery with a Mild Mustard taste


 

Now get out there while it's still spring and all these lovely herbs are blooming from the ground. There's nothing better than gathering local ingredients to try new flavors while being kind our environment.


Mother nature always provides.


Keep exploring :)



DSC_0134.jpg

Thanks for reading!

I'm Genevieve Fox, a freelance journalist based in Detroit. I love spending time outdoors and reading a good book. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
bottom of page